Tuesday, April 15, 2014

New Releases From Anne Mette Iversen's Double Life "So Many Roads" and John Ellis & Andy Bragen "MOBRO"

Bassist Anne Mette Iversen's Double Life new release "So Many Roads" comes to us from Brooklyn Jazz Underground Records.  The new group is: Anne Mette Iversen (bass), John Ellis (saxophones), Peter Dahlgren (trombone), Danny Grissett (piano), Otis Brown III (drums) along with the string quartet 4corners Tine Rudloff (violin), Sarah McClelland (violin), Anne Soren (viola) and Mats Larsson (cello).  "So Many Roads" is an amazing mix and blend of instruments, emotions, musical stories, shades and hues.  The full and entirely captivating suite is some 36 minutes long: Prologue/Chapter One/Two/Three/Four/Epilogue.  Recorded in September 2013 at The Royal Danish Conservatory of Music in Copenhagen with the exception of Prologue which was recorded in November 2013 in Berlin.

 Anne Mette Iversen's Double Life - So Many Roads

"MOBRO" is the title of the new release on Parade Light Records from saxophonist John Ellis in collaboration with Andy Bragen (libretto).  Also totally captivating, "MOBRO" was composed for 9 musicians and five singers and was commissioned by The Jazz Gallery in 2011.  Appearing on the recording: singers Becca Stevens, Miles Griffith, Sachal Vasandani and Johnaye Kendrick; John Ellis (soprano/tenor saxophones), Alan Ferber and Josh Roseman (trombones), Shane Endsley (trumpet), John Clark (horn), Mike Moreno and Ryan Scott (guitars), Joe Sanders (bass), and Rodney Green (drums).

The movements: I-Anticipation, II-Sailing, III-Storm, IV-Rejection, V-Mutiny/Rebellion, VI-2nd Rejection, VII-Military, VIII-Doldrums, IX-Snarl, X-Self-Knowledge, XI-Mourning, XII-Celebration. 

 MOBRO - John Ellis & Andy Bragen

No comments: