Saturday, May 8, 2010

Jazz from Gallery 41 - New Releases From ECM

Anyone who knows me or has listened to any of my programs is well aware that I have always been a big fan of Manfred Eicher's ECM record label. Founded in 1969 on borrowed money, Manfred released the first of the label's recordings "Free At Last" by pianist Mal Waldron that included Isla Eckinger on bass and drummer Clarence Becton, recorded in November of that year. Today the ECM (Editions of Contemporary Music) catalogue numbers into the 1000's and without exception each of them is wonderfully performed, impeccably recorded with unsurpassed audio quality, and beautifully packaged.

The four most recent releases are in a word simply amazing.

Tord Gustavsen Ensemble "Restored, Returned"
Recorded January 2009
Tord Gustavsen piano
Tore Brunborg tenor and soprano saxophones
Kristin Asbjørnsen vocals
Mats Eilertsen double-bass
Jarle Vespestad drums

Paul Motian "Lost In A Dream"
Recorded live at The Village Vanguard in NYC
Paul Motian drums
Jason Moran piano
Chris Potter saxophones

Ralph Towner & Paolo Fresu "Chiaroscuro"
Recorded October 2008
Ralph Towner classical, 12-string and baritone guitars
Paolo Fresu trumpet, flugelhorn

Tomasz Stanko Quintet "Dark Eyes"
Recorded April 2009
Tomasz Stanko trumpet
Alexi Tuomarila piano
Jakob Bro guitar
Anders Christensen bass
Olavi Louhivuori drums

I've just updated our stream with these new releases and will certainly be playing and talking about them on the live broadcasts as well. Do please come on by and share the music with us every now and again.

Jazz from Gallery 41

No comments: